Conference Information




Instructions for Authors

Call for Papers

About the Forum: The 20th International Forum of Digital Multimedia Communication (20th IFTC) is a summit forum in the field of digital multimedia communication. The Forum is co-hosted by SIGA and Springer CCIS (approval pending). It is organized by State Key Laboratory of Media Convergence and Communication, the School of Data Science and Media Intelligence of Communication University of China, and is co-organized by Key Laboratory of Media Audio & Video of Ministry of Education (Communication University of China), and Guangdong South New Media Inc.. The Forum is co-sponsored by Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), the Shanghai Institute for Advanced Communication and Data Science, Shanghai Telecom Company, Shanghai Key Laboratory of Digital Media Processing and Communication, and Shanghai Qing Assistant Technology Company Ltd.

The 20th IFTC serve as an international bridge for extensively exchanging the latest research advances of digital multimedia communication around the world as well as the relevant policies of industry authorities. The Forum is also to promote the technology, equipment and applications in the field of digital media by comparing the characteristics, frameworks, significant techniques and their maturity, analyzing the performance of various applications in terms of scalability, manageability and portability and discussing the interfaces among varieties of networks and platforms, and foster scientific exchange between researchers, practitioners, scientists, students, and engineers in digital multimedia communication and its affiliated disciplines.

We warmly welcome international and domestic researchers, government officials and industry leaders to Beijing to share your visions on digital multimedia communication together. The excellent papers will be recommended to Displays (SCI journal) after being extended.


The forum program will include keynote speeches, oral and poster sessions of contributed papers. The thematic topics of 20th IFTC is Artificial Intelligence for Multimedia Communication. Prospective authors are invited to submit manuscripts on topics including but not limited to:

● Human and Interactive Media

● Deep Learning for Social Media

● Source Coding

● Applications of Artificial Intelligence

● Metaverse and Blockchain

● Affective Computing

● Video Analysis

● Big Data and Data Mining

● Video Retrieval and Content Security

● Multimedia Communication

● Graphics and Image Processing for Virtual Reality

Paper Submission

Authors should submit a PDF version of their papers of 12-15 pages including results, figures and references using the Springer CCIS templet, see the IFTC2023 author kit for details. Papers will be accepted only in English by electronic submission at Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings by Springer in their Communications in Computer and Information Science (CCIS) series (pending final approval), indexed in EI, and Online Accessible at Springer Database. Best paper and best student paper awards will be presented at the conference.

Important Dates

Deadline of Paper Submission

October 20, 2023

Author Notification

November 15, 2023

Paper Registration

November 30, 2023

Date of Conference

December 21-22, 2023


    General Chairs

  • Xiaokang Yang (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  • Ping An (Shanghai University, China)
  • Long Ye (Communication University of China, China)
  • Guangtao Zhai (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  • Program Chairs

  • Yue Lu (East China Normal University, China)
  • Jun Zhou (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  • Yuan Zhang (Communication University of China, China)
  • Haonan Cheng (Communication University of China, China)
  • Hua Yang (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  • International Liaisons:

  • Weisi Lin (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Patrick Le Callet (Nantes University, France)
  • Lu Zhang (INSA Rennes, France)
  • Finance Chairs

  • Yi Xu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  • Hao Liu (Donghua University China)
  • Beibei Li (Shanghai Polytech. University, China)
  • Xuefei Song (Shanghai Ninth People's Hospital, China)
  • Tutorial Chairs

  • Xiangyang Xue (Fudan University, China)
  • Yuming Fang (Jiangxi University of Fin. & Eco., China)
  • Jiantao Zhou (University of Macau, China)

    Publications Chairs:

  • Hong Lu (Fudan University, China)
  • Feiniu Yuan (Shanghai Normal University China)
  • Menghan Hu (East China Normal University, China)
  • Liquan Shen (Shanghai University, China)
  • Award Chairs:

  • Zhijun Fang (Donghua University, China)
  • George Wang (Guangdong South New Media Inc., China)
  • Xiaolin Huang (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  • Hanli Wang (Tongji University, China)
  • Yu Zhu (East China University Sci. & Tech., China)
  • Publicity Chairs:

  • Bo Yan (Fudan University, China)
  • Wei Zhong (Communication University of China, China)
  • Juanjuan Cai (Communication University of China, China)
  • Gang Hou (Central Res. Inst. of INESA, China)
  • Industrial Program Chairs:

  • Yiyi Lu (China Telecom Shanghai Branch, China)
  • Zhiye Chen (Guangdong South New Media Inc., China)
  • Guozhong Wang (Shanghai University of Tech. Sci., China)
  • Chen Yao (Third Res. Inst. of MPS, China)
  • Yan Zhou (Renji Hospital)
  • Arrangement Chairs:

  • Cheng Zhi (SIGA, China)
  • Jia Wang (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)


Contact: Dr. Jun Zhou

407, 5th SEIEE Building Complex, No. 800, Dongchuan Road, Shanghai, 200240



Tel: 86-21-34204468.       Fax: 86-021-34204155